June 27, 2011

 

So this is about halfway through our time of service for those of us volunteering with Students International DR for the summer.

 

While filming in Mata Gorda today, all of the events that I needed to shoot were occurring at the same time which led to a quick assessment and me realizing that I would be unable to get all of the footage that I needed.  If I had 15 more minutes I wouldn’t have to be heading back out to that town (which takes a bit of navigating around  holes and washouts in the road on a motorcycle that has street tires).  Also, at the end of the day  a strong tropical storm swept through the valley, downing trees, poorly supported power lines and debris across the road from Mata Gorda back to the base.  After my motorcycle accident a few weeks ago, ‘the Galaxy’ has a number of unsettling squeaks and every time the back wheel walks around on the soft dirt/mud and gravel roads, my heart just drops.  Needless to say, today has been a long day.

 

However, as I write this, I’m listening to a song by Will Reagan (United Pursuit Band) and taking joy in the lyrics that proclaim, “I lean not on my own understanding. My life is in the hands of the maker of heaven.”  Even on days that we’re not on our best, it’s so great to just lean in and fully trust the Lord.


Leave a comment